RAPEX (European Union)

The Rapid Alert System for non-food dangerous products facilitates the rapid exchange of information between national authorities of 31 countries and the European Commission on dangerous products found on the market. The Commission publishes a weekly overview of the alerts on products reported by the national authorities. They include information on the dangerous products found, the risks identified and the measures taken in the notifying country in order to prevent or restrict their marketing or use. Measures can be ordered by national authorities ("compulsory measures") or be taken directly by producers and distributors ("voluntary measures"). Each alert also includes information on the countries where the same product was found and further measures were taken.